Gerd Hermann Ortler

Composer - Arranger - Conductor

Selection of compositions


der reitende urzwerg

Western for String Orchestra and Harp (2015)


Composed by Gerd Hermann Ortler

Performed by the Vienna Chamber Orchestra (Wiener KammerOrchester) and Joji Hattori (conductor) at the Wiener Konzerthaus (5th of May 2015, World Premiere)

Concert Program:

Work Description:

Copyright ©2015 by Gerd Hermann Ortler. International Copyright Secured. All Rights Reserved.


stained Glass

concertino for joshua redman, aaron goldberg and the vienna chamber orchestra (2014)


"Stained Glass" is a concertino for Joshua Redman, Aaron Goldberg and the Vienna Chamber
Orchestra. In this composition I tried to connect the musical worlds of the wonderful soloists and
the chamber orchestra.
The title “Stained Glass” is a metaphor of the concept of this work. As stained glass, like for
example in a church window, is put together by many different pieces that change through light and
perspective, also this composition consists of various elements, which are exposed in different ways
and transform throughout the concertino.

Gerd Hermann Ortler, February 2014


Composed and conducted by Gerd Hermann Ortler, "Stained Glass" Concertino for Joshua Redman, Aaron Goldberg, and the Wiener KammerOrchester (2014) (World Premiere Performance, commissioned by the Wiener Konzerthaus).

Performed on Tuesday, March 11th, 2014 at the Grosser Saal of the Wiener Konzerthaus.


Changing landscape 

composition for a moving ensemble (2013)

(Saxophone/Flute, Trompet/Flugelhorn, female Voice, Trombone/Euphonium, Horn/Accordion, Tuba/Accordion, Double Bass, Drum Set).
Commissioned by the “Vintschger Kulturlandschaftstage”.
Premiere: “Vintschger Kulturlandschaftstage“ (South Tyrol, Italy). Duration: ca. 35 Min.




concertino for chamber orchestra (2013)


TRANSLATION - Concertino for Chamber Orchestra (2013)

Composed by Gerd Hermann Ortler

Played by the Wiener KammerOrchester (Vienna ChamberOrchestra)

Conducted by Joji Hattori

Live at the Wiener Konzerthaus (April 2013)

Copyright ©2014 by Gerd Hermann Ortler. International Copyright Secured. All Rights Reserved.



 Encounters in the Mountains

Hymn for the 30th Anniversary of the “Südtirol Jazzfestival Alto Adige”(2012) 

Instrumentation for different Line Ups – from Jazz Orchestra to Solo. Commissioned by the “Südtirol Jazzfestival Alto Adige”.

Premiere: Stadttheater (Bolzano, Italy) with Paolo Fresu, Hamilton de Holanda, Jim Black, Nils Wogram, Gianluca Petrella, Bebo Ferra, David Linx, Diederik Wissels. 

Studio Version performed by the GHO Orchestra: Lorenz Raab (trumpets), Clemens Salesny (saxophones), Dominik Stöger (trombones), Christoph Gigler (tuba), Veronika Schicho (vocals), Matthias Pichler (bass), Peter Rom (guitar), Herbert Pirker (drums)
Soloists: Gianluca Petrella (trombone), Matthias Schriefl (trumpet)

 Duration: ca. 6 Min.

more compositions coming soon...

Copyright ©2015 by Gerd Hermann Ortler. All Rights Reserved.